Qu Les métiers de la scène Lexique Accueil Opéra de Québec
Les composantes Les voix Les grandes maisons d'opéra

Componants


THE ORCHESTRA
During an opera performance, the orchestra is placed in the orchestra pit, located below the stage on which the singers perform. There is room for up to 72 musicians.

CHORUS
The Chorus at L’Opéra de Québec is made up of between 20 and 60 professional singers, depending on the production.

CONTROL ROOM
The control room is where all scenery and lighting changes are cued, and where instructions are given for movements on or off stage. The stage manager gives the signal for the start of the performance, the raising of the curtain, and changes of scenery and lighting. The assistant stage managers, hidden in the wings on each side of the stage, tell the performers when to go on stage and give any other cues that are needed. Everything is carefully timed based on cues in the orchestral score.

LOGISTICS
Many months in advance, the artistic director and general administrator fix the programme for the upcoming season and hire the stage director, soloists and chorus for each production, besides organizing the rental or creation of the scenery and costumes needed.

For example, L’Opéra de Québec employs up to 250 people for each production, including singers, musicians, chorus members, rehearsal pianists, stage managers, costume designers and makers, props designers, make-up staff, hairdressers, dancers, extras, operators, lighting staff, sound equipment operators, projectionists, dressers and administrative staff.

Rehearsals begin three weeks before the first performance. Each group (chorus, soloists, orchestra) rehearses separately in a rehearsal room, and then the various performers are gradually brought together on stage to establish links between the groups. After the pre-dress rehearsal and the dress rehearsal comes the excitement of Opening Night!

The soloists arrive up to 4 hours before the performance to receive their makeup and costumes; the chorus members must report to the Grand Théâtre about one hour before performance time to receive their makeup and costumes and perform warm-up exercises.

The musicians must arrive 30 minutes before curtain time.


Back to top

Qu Les métiers de la scène Lexique Accueil Opéra de Québec
Les composantes Les voix Les grandes maisons d'opéra Historique de l'opéra à Québec La production d'un opéra

Les composantes


L’ORCHESTRE
Dans la présentation d’un opéra, l’orchestre se trouve placé dans la fosse, c’est-à-dire sous la scène et sous les chanteurs. Il peut comprendre jusqu’à 72 musiciens

LE CHŒUR
Le Chœur de l’Opéra de Québec est composé de chanteurs professionnels. Selon les opéras, il est formé de plus ou moins de choristes (en général entre 20 et 60).

LA RÉGIE
C’est de là que tous les contrôles de décors et des éclairages se font, que toutes les directives d’entrées, de sorties et de mouvements de scène sont données. C’est le régisseur en chef qui donne le départ du spectacle, le lever du rideau, les changements d’éclairages et de décors. Les assistants régisseurs, cachés de chaque côté de la scène (dans les coulisses), donnent les entrées pour les solistes ou tout autre élément du spectacle. Tout est mesuré au chronomètre à partir de la partition de l’oeuvre.

LA LOGISTIQUE
Des mois à l’avance, les directions artistique et générale préparent la programmation et voient à l’engagement du metteur en scène, des solistes et des choristes, à la location ou la fabrication des décors et des costumes.

Rappelons que l’Opéra de Québec emploie jusqu’à 250 personnes par production parmi eux, on retrouve: chanteurs, musiciens, choristes, pianiste-répétiteur, régisseurs, costumiers, accessoiristes, maquilleurs, coiffeurs, danseurs, figurants, machinistes, éclairagistes, sonorisateurs, projectionnistes, habilleurs et personnel d’administration.

Trois semaines avant la première, les répétitions commencent. Chaque groupe (chœur, solistes, orchestre) travaille séparément en salle de répétition, puis on transporte tous les groupes sur scène graduellement alors que tous les raccords entre les différents groupes sont faits. Puis, une pré-générale est faite, ensuite la générale, et enfin la première!

Avant les représentations, les solistes arrivent jusqu’à 4 heures à l’avance pour le maquillage et les costumes ; les choristes doivent être présents au Grand Théâtre environ une heure à l’avance pour se faire maquiller, s’habiller et réchauffer leur voix.

Les musiciens doivent être présents 30 minutes avant le lever du rideau.


Haut de page