Qu Les métiers de la scène Lexique Accueil Opéra de Québec
Les composantes Les voix Les grandes maisons d'opéra
 
Voices


Page 2 of 3 : Women's voices
Foward page Next Page
 

Soprano – There are several types of soprano: the coloratura soprano has a light, high-pitched voice of great agility (for roles such as Olympia, a clockwork doll, in Offenbach’s Tales of Hoffmann), the light soprano has an agile voice and is comfortable in the higher register (Susanna in Mozart’s Marriage of Figaro), the lyric soprano, the most common type, has a warmer, stronger voice at a slightly lower pitch (Marguerite in Gounod’s Faust, Mimi in Puccini’s La Bohème, Violetta in Verdi’s La Traviata); the soprano spinto or soprano lirico spinto is basically a lyric soprano with strong dramatic ability and enough power to mark certain climaxes (Verdi’s Aïda); lastly, the dramatic soprano has a voice that is powerful throughout its range, energetic and full of character.

Mezzo-soprano – The range of the mezzo-soprano lies between the soprano and contralto voices. A high mezzo voice is often identical to a dramatic soprano or soprano spinto, and many roles can be performed by either type. A coloratura mezzo-soprano has a warm lower register and an agile high register (Rosina in Rossini’s Barber of Seville), whereas a dramatic mezzo-soprano has a strong medium register, a warm high register and a voice that is generally broader and more powerful (Amnéris in Verdi’s Aida).

Contralto – The lowest women’s voice, with a compass of around two octaves. It is warm and rich, with a generous and noble timbre. Despite its apparent heaviness, the contralto voice is capable of great agility.




Back to top

Qu Les métiers de la scène Lexique Accueil Opéra de Québec
Les composantes Les voix Les grandes maisons d'opéra Historique de l'opéra à Québec La production d'un opéra
 
Les voix


Page 2 de 3 : Les voix de femme
Page précédente Page suivante
 

Soprano : Il existe plusieurs types de sopranos : le soprano colorature qui est une voix légère et très aiguë d’une grande agilité (comme Olympia (La Poupée mécanique) dans Les Contes d’Hoffmann d’Offenbach), le soprano léger a une voix souple et à l’aise dans l’aigu, (Susanna dans Les Noces de Figaro de Mozart), le soprano lyrique, plus répandu, plus chaleureux, plus puissant et dont la tessiture est un peu plus grave (Marguerite dans Faust de Gounod, Mimi dans La Bohème de Puccini, Violetta dans La Traviata de Verdi) ; le soprano spinto ou soprano lirico spinto, voix essentiellement lyrique possédant des qualités plus dramatiques et un certain mordant aux points culminants (Aïda de Verdi), finalement, le soprano dramatique, voix généralement plus lourde sur l’ensemble de la tessiture, c’est une voix généreuse et énergique.

Mezzo-soprano : Voix dont la tessiture se situe à mi-chemin entre la voix de contralto et celle de soprano. Une voix de mezzo-soprano aiguë est souvent identique à une voix de soprano dramatique ou de soprano-spinto et de nombreux rôles peuvent être chantés indifféremment par l’une ou l’autre. Le mezzo-soprano colorature a un grave chaleureux et des aigus agiles (Rosina dans Le Barbier de Séville de Rossini), le mezzo-soprano dramatique a un médium consistant, un aigu généreux et généralement une voix plus large et puissante (Amnéris dans Aida de Verdi).

Contralto (grave) : La plus grave des voix de femmes, son étendu couvre environ deux octaves. Elle se caractérise par une sonorité sombre et riche et un timbre généreux et noble. Malgré une lourdeur apparente, le contralto peut être capable d’agilité.


Haut de page