Representations

Production Sponsor
Simons

May 11 (7:00 p.m.), 14, 16 and 18 (8:00 p.m.), 2013

Guest conductor: Jean-François RIVEST
Stage director: Alain GAUTHIER

Baron de Gondremarck
Baronne de Gondremarck
Le Brésilien
Métella
Gabrielle
Bobinet
Frick and Prosper
Gardefeu
Pauline
Robert HUARD, bass-baritone
Monique PAGÉ, soprano
Marc HERVIEUX, tenor
Nathalie PAULIN, soprano
Pascale BEAUDIN, soprano
Éric THÉRIAULT, tenor
Hugues SAINT-GELAIS, tenor
Patrick MALLETTE, baritone
Judith BOUCHARD, soprano

Le Chœur de l’Opéra de Québec
L’Orchestre symphonique de Québec
          
Original French version

Synopsis

Paris

Act I

The Western Railroad Station
Two rival suitors are standing on opposite sides of the train station, waiting for their girlfriend, Métella, who is returning from the seashore, but she appears holding Gontran’s arm. She appears to recognize neither Raoul de Gardefeu, nor Bobinet. Faced with this treason, the two rivals reconcile and decide to go hunting for women of the world.  Bobinet undertakes to court a countess, and Gardefeu disguises himself as a tourist guide attached to the Grand Hotel to shepherd the Baron and Baroness Gondremarck, a Swedish couple thirsty for the experience of “Parisian Life”. 

 
A group of travelers arrives, including a Brazilian with a weakness for Parisian follies, who is prepared to give all he has in his quest for love.

Act II

A Living Room in the Gardefeu residence
Gabrielle, a glover, and Frick, a boot maker, appear to deliver gloves and boots. Gardefeu has installed the Swedes in his own home, making them believe that they are in an annex of the Grand Hotel. Baron Gondremarck does not deny that he came to Paris to have the time of his life, especially considering that he had received a letter that highly recommends a certain Métella.

But first, to get off to a good start, the Baron wants to take full advantage of the hotel’s dining room to avoid dining alone with the Baroness.  Gardefeu, who had not anticipated this situation, asks the glover and the boot maker to disguise themselves as the widow of a colonel and as Major Edouard, and to bring ten friends, all émigrés.

Métella’s arrival complicates the situation. When she sees the Baroness installed in Gardefeu’s home, a jealous Métella demands an explanation. Gardefeu then shows her a letter of introduction from Baron Frascata, a Swede who had once known Métella, wherein he recommends his friend, Gondremarck, to her. Gondremarck presents himself to her, and she says that she will give her answer in a few days.

The guests arrive and the party begins!

Act III
The great hall of the Quimper-Karadec Hotel
Everyone is busily occupied in preparing to receive foreign dignitaries. Bobinet inspects his servants, who will soon be disguised as colorful personalities. The Baron Gondremarck is the first to appear, followed by General Malaga de Porto-Rico and the Prince of Manchabal. All the guests have bombastic, grandiose titles. 

The major-domo announces the arrival of the admiral…none other than Bobinet who was unable to get into his too-small costume, which unfortunately split down the back. This mini-drama sets the stage for the evening’s culinary pleasure. Everybody forgets his cares and a general exhilaration falls over the assembly.

Act IV

The Café Anglais, midnight
The Brazilian has ordered supper in one of the salons. While waiting, the waiters receive instructions from the Maitre d’: Here, in this restaurant, you must be prepared to close your eyes…. Baron Gondremarck has reserved a private nook in preparation for a delicious tête-à-tête with Métella. She suggests that he should dine, not with her, but with one of her masked friends, who has just arrived. This “friend” is actually the Baroness in disguise. The Baron recognizes his wife and, after having installed her in the nook and having ordered supper for her, he leaves her to seek Gardefeu and demand an explanation.  

Revellers interrupt. The Baron demands redress from Gardefeu. Everyone has his say, and the Baron must admit that, after all, he has eaten, drunk and laughed quite heartily. The Baroness pardons the Baron’s weaknesses and all eat joyfully in honor of the glory of Parisian life!

 

BEFORE THE CURTAIN RISES…

For a better understanding and appreciation of the opera

The Opéra de Québec offers conferences presented by Irène Brisson, a well-known musicologist. Ms. Brisson will introduce the productions of the Opéra de Québec, and will use excerpts from appropriate DVDs to illustrate her commentary.

La Vie parisienne
Friday, May 3, 2013, at 7:30 p.m.

Foyer Louis-Fréchette du Grand Théâtre de Québec
Opéra de Québec subscription holders pay only $12 for one conference, $20 for two.                      
                                                       All others: $17 for one conference, $30 for two.
                                             (All taxes included)

 

Grégoire Legendre

Représentations

Commanditaire de production
Hydro Québec

Les 11 (19 h), 14, 16 et 18 (20 h) mai 2013

Chef d’orchestre : Jean-François RIVEST
Metteur en scène : Alain GAUTHIER

Baron de Gondremarck
Baronne de Gondremarck
Le Brésilien
Métella
Gabrielle
Bobinet
Frick et Prosper
Gardefeu
Pauline
Robert HUARD, baryton-basse
Monique PAGÉ, soprano
Marc HERVIEUX, ténor
Nathalie PAULIN, soprano
Pascale BEAUDIN, soprano
Éric THÉRIAULT, ténor
Hugues SAINT-GELAIS, ténor
Patrick MALLETTE, baryton
Judith BOUCHARD, soprano

Le Chœur de l’Opéra de Québec
L’Orchestre symphonique de Québec
          
Version originale française avec surtitres

Synopsis

À Paris

Acte I

La gare du chemin de fer de l'Ouest.
Deux jeunes galants attendent chacun de son côté de la gare leur maîtresse, Métella, qui revient de la mer. Mais celle-ci au bras de Gontran, un troisième homme, affecte de ne pas reconnaître ni Raoul de Gardefeu ni Bobinet. Face à cette trahison, nos deux compères se réconcilient et décident de partir à la chasse aux femmes du monde. Bobinet part courtiser une comtesse et Gardefeu se déguise en guide attaché au Grand Hôtel pour prendre sous son aile un couple de suédois avide de connaître la « vie parisienne », le baron et la baronne de Gondremarck.

Un groupe de voyageurs arrive alors qu'un Brésilien, pris de vertige pour les folies parisiennes, est prêt à se dépouiller de tout en échange qu'on l'aime.

Acte II

Un salon chez Gardefeu.
Gabrielle, la gantière, et Frick, le bottier, viennent livrer les gants et les bottes. Gardefeu a installé les Suédois dans son hôtel particulier en leur laissant croire qu'ils se trouvent dans une annexe du Grand Hôtel. Le baron de Gondremarck ne cache pas qu'il est venu à Paris pour s'éclater, aidé en cela par une lettre lui recommandant une certaine Métella.

Pour bien commencer la soirée, le Baron veut profiter de la table d'hôte afin d'éviter un tête-à-tête avec la Baronne. Gardefeu, qui n'a pas prévu de table, demande à sa gantière et son bottier de se déguiser, elle en veuve d'un colonel et lui en major Édouard, et d'amener une dizaine de leurs amis, tous émigrés.

L'arrivée de Métella complique un peu la situation. Voyant la Baronne installée chez Gardefeu, Métella, jalouse, exige une explication. Gardefeu lui remet alors la lettre du baron de Frascata, un Suédois qui connu Métella naguère et qui lui recommande son ami Gondremarck. Ce dernier se présente à Métella qui lui annonce qu'elle lui donnera la réponse dans quelques jours.

Les convives commencent à affluer et la fête va commencer!

Acte III

Le grand salon de l'hôtel de Quimper-Karadec.
On se prépare fébrilement à recevoir des illustres étrangers. Bobinet inspecte les domestiques qui vont se déguiser en personnages hautement colorés. Le baron de Gondremarck se présente le premier, suivi du général Malaga de Porto-Rico et du prince de Manchabal. Tous les invités sont parés des titres les plus ronflants les uns que les autres.

Le majordome annonce l'arrivée de l'amiral. C'est Bobinet, lequel n'a pu rentrer dans son habit, qui a fini par « craquer dans le dos ». Ce mini-drame complètement fou prépare les convives au plaisir de la table. Une folie totale s'empare de tous, jusqu'à l'enivrement général.

Acte lV

Au Café Anglais, à minuit.
Dans un des salons, un souper sera offert par le Brésilien. En attendant, les garçons écoutent les recommandations du maître d'hôtel : ici il faut savoir fermer les yeux... Le baron Gondremarck a réservé un cabinet particulier pour se ménager un tête-à-tête avec Métella. Celle-ci lui propose finalement de dîner non pas avec elle mais avec l'une de ses amies qui vient d'arriver masquée. C'est la baronne de Gondremarck déguisée. Reconnaissant sa femme, le Baron l'installe dans un cabinet, et lui fait servir à manger seule et court chercher Gardefeu pour une explication.

Les fêtards font irruption. Le Baron demande réparation à Gardefeu. Tout le monde s'explique et le Baron reconnaît, tout compte fait, s'être bien amusé, avoir bien bu et bien mangé. La Baronne, de son côté, accepte de pardonner ses frasques au Baron et tous vont souper joyeusement à la gloire de la vie parisienne!

 


AVANT-OPÉRA

Pour mieux comprendre et apprécier l’opéra

L’Opéra de Québec propose des conférences animées par Mme Irène Brisson, musicologue reconnue. Celle-ci présente les productions de l’Opéra de Québec en étoffant le tout par des extraits sur DVD.

La Vie parisienne
Vendredi 3 mai 2013, à 19 h 30

Foyer Louis-Fréchette du Grand Théâtre de Québec
Abonné à l’Opéra de Québec : 12 $ une conférence       20 $ deux conférences
                          Non abonné : 17 $ une conférence       30 $ deux conférences
                                             (taxes incluses)

Grégoire Legendre